Governing Board

The i2CAT Foundation is governed by the following three bodies:

  • The Board of Trustees
  • The Executive Committee
  • Management Team

Organisational structure

The diagram below illustrates the organisational structure of i2CAT Foundation at these different levels:

  • Board
  • Executive Committee
  • Management
  • Technical Management
  • Areas and Units
  • Administration and Project Management Office
  • Infrastructure and Services

Executive Committee

The members representatives are:

  • Mr. Lluis Rovira i Pato, President, Director at CERCA Institution
  • Mr. Carles Salvadó Usach, Vice-President of Delegate Committee, Head of Telecommunications Service at Secretary of Telecommunications, Cybersecurity and Digital Society
  • Mrs. Montserrat Cereza Carril, Territorial Manager of Institutional Relations at Orange
  • Mr. Sergi Marcen López, Chief Innovation and Strategy Officer at Centre de Telecomunicacions i Tecnologies de la Informació (CTiTI)
  • Mr. Carles Gómara Martinez, Innovation Director at Acció
  • Mr. Lluís Comellas i Riera, Research Vice-Rector at Universitat Ramon Llull
  • Mr. Miquel Oliver, Coordinator of the ICT Department at Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • Mr. Xavier Ferrandiz, vocal, Engineering and Infrastructures Manager of CCMA
  • Mr. Joan Bennassar, Technical Manager at Media Pro
  • Mr. Javier Marcos Álvarez, Technological Innovation Unit Manager at Cellnex Telecom
  • Mr. Jordi Martínez, Innovation Director at TICSalut Foundation
  • Mrs. Joana Sánchez i Morillo, Sales Manager of Government and Public Services at Vodafone
  • Mr. Xavier Buxeda Lladó, General Manager at Fujitsu Technology Solutions in Catalonia
  • Mr. Carles Batalla Teruel, Customer Solutions Architect, at Cisco Systems
  • Mr. Diego Matas Morillo, General Manager at Interoute Iberia, S.A.U
  • Mr. Francisco Rodríguez, Managing Director at IMI (Barcelona City Council)
  • Mr. David Noguer i Bau, Regional Director at Juniper Networks
  • Mr. Jordi Berenguer Saru, Vice-Rector for Knowledge Transfer at Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC)
  • Mr. Josep Maria Martorell i Rodon, Deputy Director at Barcelona Supercomputing Center
  • Mr. Felip Fenollosa, Director at Fundació CIM
  • Mr. Josep Paradells Aspas, Director at Fundació i2CAT
  • Mr. Joan Manel Martín Almansa, Managing Director at Fundació i2CAT
  • Mr. David Moure, Business Manager at Epson Ibérica

Scientific Advisory Board

The Board, created in 2012, is composed by the following members: 

Prof. Dimitra Simeonidou, University of Bristol, United Kingdom
Head of the University of Bristol’s High Performance Networks Group. BSc and MSc in Physics from the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece), PhD from the University of Essex. 

Prof. Dae-Young Kim, Chungman National University, South Korea
Professor of the Department of Information Communications Engineering  at Chungnam National University. 

Bill St Arnaud, Independent R&E Network and Green IT consultant, Canada
Independent Consultant specialising in advanced networks and Green IT. 

Prof. Carsten Bormann, Universität Bremen (University of Bremen), Germany
Professor of Internet Technology at the University of Bremen and member of the board of directors of the Centre for Computing and Communications Technology (TZI). 

Management Team

  • Mr. Josep Paradells Aspas, Director
  • Mr. Artur Serra, Deputy Director 
  • Mr. Joan Manel Martín Almansa, Managing Director 
  • Mr. Sergi Figuerola, Chief Technology and Innovation Officer