Digital Units

Units are strategic research structures that link universities, administrations and businesses that share interests in the same subject or sector within the field of advanced Internet research.

Units have enabled new collaborators to participate more fully. Thematic Units a collection of services and synergistic software that are coordinated and promoted by businesses and institutions that have signed partner agreements with i2CAT. There are currently five thematic Units, which may later be extended to other subjects: Network Technologies, Audiovisual , eHealth and eDependence, Industry and Education.

Each Unit has simultaneous access to the i2CAT platform's services and to its own internal resources (i.e. infrastructure, services and software), which enables it to design and carry out its own projects.

The areas

The areas are specific departments that purpose their area of knowledge within the foundation. Currently there are two areas, research and technology transfer.